INFORMATION RELEASE



Office of the Director

ARKANSAS STATE HIGHWAY AND TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT P. O. Box 2261 – Little Rock, Arkansas Telephone (501) 569-2227

Contact: Randy Ort/David Nilles NR09-114 September 11, 2009

HIGHWAY COMMISSIONERS ELECTED TO LEAD REGIONAL COMMITTEE

LITTLE ROCK (9-11) – Carl Rosenbaum, Chairman of the Arkansas State Highway Commission, was elected to chair the Special Committee on Commissions and Boards for the Southeastern Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (SASHTO) at the annual SASHTO conference held last week in Biloxi, Mississippi.

Over the past year, Rosenbaum served as Vice Chairman for the committee and during the meeting last week was unanimously voted to be the Chairman for the next year.

In addition to Rosenbaum being named Chairman of the Special Committee on Commissions and Boards, Arkansas State Highway Commission Vice Chairman R. Madison Murphy of El Dorado was named Secretary for the Committee for a one-year term.

Carl Rosenbaum was appointed by Governor Mike Huckabee to a 10-year term on the Arkansas State Highway Commission. He took the Oath of Office on January 16, 2001. His term will expire in January 2011. He became Chairman of the Commission in November of 2008.

Rosenbaum's previous experience in public service includes serving as a member of the Arkansas Economic Development Commission, on the advisory council of the Arkansas Department of Human Services Mental Health and the advisory council of the Eighth District Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. He is a life board member for Youth Home, Inc. and a past vice president and board member of the Quapaw Area Council of the Boy Scouts of America. Rosenbaum has served as an international director for Rotary International and as president of Little Rock Rotary Club No. 99. Rosenbaum has served on the boards of Baptist Health, the Greater Little Rock YMCA, Regions Bank of Little Rock and the advisory board of UAMS Arkansas BioVentures.