INFORMATION RELEASE



Office of the Director

ARKANSAS STATE HIGHWAY AND TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT P. O. Box 2261 – Little Rock, Arkansas Telephone (501) 569-2227

Contact: Randy Ort/David Nilles NR09-115 September 11, 2009

AHTD DIRECTOR ELECTED PRESIDENT OF REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION ORGANIZATION

LITTLE ROCK (9-11) – Dan Flowers, Director of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department, was named President of the Southeastern Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (SASHTO) at the annual SASHTO conference held last week in Biloxi, Mississippi. Flowers' will hold the position of President for a one-year term.

Flowers is active in transportation on the regional and national levels. This is his second term as president of SASHTO. He has also served as president of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) and has served as Chairman of the American Association's Special Committee on International Activities Coordination. Prior to being president of AASHTO, Flowers served as Chairman of the Association's Subcommittee on Design, Standing Committee on Highways, and as the Association's Vice-President. Currently he is Co-Chairman of the AASHTO – Associated General Contractors of America (AGC) – American Road and Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) Joint Committee.

Flowers was selected by the Arkansas Highway Commission to become Director of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department in January of 1994. He currently is the longest tenured Director of any transportation department in the country.

Flowers is a registered professional engineer, a member of the University of Arkansas' Academy of Civil Engineering (AACE). He was elected Vice President of AACE in April 2008. He also serves on the Mack-Blackwell Transportation Center's Professional Advisory Board at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville.

In August of 2001, the Arkansas Chapter of the Associated General Contractors presented Flowers with its most prestigious award, the Skill, Integrity, and Responsibility Award (SIR) for his leadership contributions to the enhancement of the construction industry. In September 2004, Flowers was awarded the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials' prestigious Thomas H. McDonald Memorial Award for exceptional contribution to the art and science of highway engineering.

Flowers was also honored in October 2004 by the University of Arkansas' Department of Civil Engineering when the "Dan Flowers Education and Training Facility" was dedicated in his name. The facility is part of the Mack-Blackwell National Transportation Study Center at the University of Arkansas.

In October of 2008 he received the George S. Bartlett Award which is presented by AASHTO, the Transportation Research Board and the American Road and Transportation Builders Association. The award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to highway progress.

He is formerly from Batesville and graduated from Batesville High School. He is married to the former Sara Stobaugh of Hughes. They have two daughters, one son, three grandsons and two granddaughters.

####