INFORMATION RELEASE



Office of the Director

ARKANSAS STATE HIGHWAY AND TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT P.O. Box 2261 - Little Rock, Arkansas Telephone (501) 569-2227

Contact: Randy Ort/Jeff Whatley NR13-020 January 18, 2013

AHTD WELCOMES NEW COMMISSIONER

LITTLE ROCK (1-18) - The Arkansas Highway and Transportation Department is praising the selection of Robert S. Moore, Jr., to the Arkansas Highway Commission.

Arkansas Governor Mike Beebe appointed Moore during a ceremony at the State Capitol on Thursday January 17th.

"Robert Moore has always understood the importance of quality transportation in building a strong economic base here in Arkansas," says Arkansas Highway Director Scott Bennett.

Moore, 68, is from Arkansas City in Southeast Arkansas. His firsthand knowledge of Arkansas' highway needs began when he was appointed as Chairman of the Arkansas Transportation Commission in 1977. He has also served in the Arkansas House of Representatives, including Speaker of the House. In addition, Moore was Director of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board.

"Moore will be a welcome member of the Highway Commission. He will be a great voice for transportation for the entire state," says Commission Chairman John Ed Regenold.

Robert Moore replaces Madison Murphy on the Highway Commission. Members of the Arkansas Highway Commission serve ten year terms.

